Discover our Pathways.

NINE DTP has 18 Training Pathways which students
can apply to when seeking funding

NINE DTP has 18 training pathways, or disciplinary and interdisciplinary areas, which cover an extensive range of subject areas within the social sciences. Each training pathway is accredited by the ESRC for the quality and relevance of their research and training provision, and are offered only in departments which have met the rigorous quality standards of the ESRC (ranked as either world-leading, or of internationally excellent quality).

All studentships are linked to these training pathways.

Applicants to NINE DTP will need to apply to a training pathway, and should familiarise themselves with the institutions and departments to which they can apply for funding through the training pathway of their choice.

Single-discipline pathways

Inter-disciplinary Pathways